Beginner’s Mind

February 1, 2011 at 1:30 am 1 comment

My friend Paul posted a link on Facebook to an interesting little article about the advantage of being a newbie and not knowing the rules – you don’t realize that something’s “not possible” and you’re not confined to an established set of constraints. I haven’t been in my profession all that long, but it’s easy to get caught up in the day to day operations and I find it harder and harder to see things with new eyes – I want to keep seeing the potential in things the way I did when I started, but it’s not easy. How do you maintain that “beginner’s mind” state?

The more experience I have, the more I need to interact with a group and bounce ideas around with others to start seeing things in a different way. A group of passionate, intelligent people always revives me and helps me see the possibilities again.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Places of Realized Potential Being Indispensable

1 Comment

  • 1. Oleg K.  |  February 2, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    The only way that I know to maintain the “beginner’s mind” is to keep doing new things. But not just any ‘ole new things, but new things that are risky personally and professionally. The comfort zone is a nice place to be, but feeling out-of-place is what gets the brain working.


"To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong." - Pearce

Archives

Feeds


