My new mantra

May 12, 2010 at 10:38 am 2 comments

Do you ever read or hear something so timely it just about knocks your feet out from under you? One of my mentors, Kathy Gould, posted something on her blog two days ago that did that to me. She was talking about leadership and management lessons she learned from her own mentor, and a simple phrase that he taught her was “What I accept, I approve.”

Read that again. “What I accept, I approve.”

It’s a really simple statement, but SO true and SO powerful – it’s rocking my world right now. I’ll probably post more about this when I’ve processed a bit more, but I wanted to make sure and share it now.

There’s more great stuff in that post, including a nice distinction between role-vested authority and earned authority. Do yourself a favor and go read the whole thing.

Entry filed under: leadership. Tags: , , .

You say you want a revolution? Too many rules?

2 Comments

  • 1. Rosario Garza  |  May 12, 2010 at 10:50 am

    So very true. And when you start thinking about all that you accept, whether actively or passively, you realize the implications are far reaching.

    • 2. Genesis  |  May 12, 2010 at 11:48 am

      Exactly! That’s what’s really kicking my butt about this idea!


"To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong." - Pearce

Archives

Feeds


