Needing a little inspiration

March 8, 2010 at 9:35 pm

I’ve been feeling a little out of balance lately. When things get particularly hectic I find myself scrambling just to get to the basic necessities and some of the things I’d really like to be focusing on fall by the wayside. I’ve had a lot of stuff building up in my “to read” pile, for instance, and that reading is my primary source for the thought that goes into this blog. It’s also one of the main things that helps me come up with creative ideas and solutions at work. I can maintain for awhile without it, but if I go too long everything else starts to suffer as well. I’m really feeling the need to carve out a little more time.

One of the books I’ve been trying to finish is Drive, by Dan Pink. Appropriately, it’s about motivation. I read a little on my break today and came up with two good quotes that were exactly what  I needed. The first is from Carol Dweck:

Effort is one of the things that gives meaning to life. Effort means you care about something, that something is important to you and you are willing to work for it. It would be an impoverished existence if you were not willing to value things and commit yourself to working toward them.

And here’s some wisdom from Dr. J:

Being a professional is doing the things you love to do, on the days you don’t feel like doing them.

I love that one!

Entry filed under: business, work. Tags: .

Great user experiences: Tor.com Dan Pink on Management


"To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong." - Pearce

Archives

Feeds


