Internet Librarian so far

October 27, 2009 at 1:38 pm

Between wifi issues and tinkering with my presentation for tomorrow (damn procrastination!) I haven’t had much time or opportunity to blog. The conference is going pretty well so far, although as usual I have a couple of regrets about sessions I chose vs. sessions I missed. I really wish I had attended the whole “Dreaming, Designing & Using Mobile Library Platforms” session this morning. I caught the second half and it whet my appetite for more.

Yesterday’s keynote interview with Vint Cerf was interesting, although I’m not sure the interview format was the best choice – I think I would rather have heard Vint give a standard presentation. By contrast, this morning’s keynote worked really well in the interview format. Paul Holdengraber might be an unconventional choice for a technology conference, but he does a great job of speaking to the possibilities inherent in libraries – very inspiring! He was funny, too.

Yesterday I was intrigued by the possibilities of using iGoogle to expand the reach of the library. I almost skipped the Super Searcher session and I’m SO glad I didn’t! Mary Ellen Bates is a great presenter and showed me some new uses for familiar tools as well as some tools I hadn’t seen before. As usual, Gary Price offered a lot of great resources – his presentation was jam-packed with goodies – I will definitely be accessing his links.

Anyway, good conference so far, and more details later!

Entry filed under: learning, libraries. Tags: .

LibCamp Monterey Ebook update


"To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong." - Pearce

Archives

Feeds


