Location Awareness and Privacy

May 29, 2009 at 6:06 pm

I ran across this post at the Pop!Tech blog and it got me thinking…how much are people willing to sacrifice their privacy in order to get something they want? With all of the social networking services out there, people are willingly giving up a measure of privacy all the time. I suspect many of us don’t even think about it until something goes wrong. Still, everyone has their limit. A lot of new technologies walk the borderline between cool and creepy, and the whole field of location awareness has such potential for abuse. I’m not even sure where I draw the line for myself, but it’s something I’m pondering more and more.

FYI: this article in Wired mentioned in the Pop!Tech post is also worth a read.

Entry filed under: social networks. Tags: , , .

Can you really change the world? Changing the definitions


"To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong." - Pearce

Archives

Feeds


