Hitting the books

January 26, 2008 at 6:25 pm 3 comments

pile-o-booksOne of my ongoing goals is to organize my home/life. I tend to start this project several times a year and then get completely overwhelmed and quit without accomplishing much, and sometimes having made things worse. This year I’m trying something different: as much as possible, I’m tackling small projects and doing them from start to finish. Today I organized my bookshelves.

Since I started working in libraries I don’t buy nearly as many books as I used to, but I still have quite a few. Many of them are in storage, but the ones in the house tend to get disorganized pretty quickly. When I don’t have places to put things I just start stacking, so today I was sorting through piles of books and other stuff and putting them in order back on the shelves.

BookshelvesIt’s very dusty work, so I weeded and cleaned as I went, and I’m quite happy with the result. I have room for all the books I want to keep in the house plus a little extra for growth, and everything is in order and visible. I am one happy librarian!

Entry filed under: cross-posted, home. Tags: , , , .

The Little Book of Common Sense Investing Time vs. Money

3 Comments

  • 1. frankschulteladbeck  |  January 27, 2008 at 4:24 am

    I use the same tactic for my projects. Now, if my one year old daughter would not pull everything out of the bookshelves each day to find that one book that she wants to read, I would be great. Well, not really, I have to convince my twelve year old son not to leave a trail of his adventures in the home too.

  • 2. Genesis  |  January 27, 2008 at 8:32 am

    Well, at least your children give you a good excuse! I have no one to blame for this particular mess but myself. However, I did have one good idea: I have a bunch of picture books that are too tall for the shelves, so rather than shelve them sideways I put them in a separate bin under the shelves. If my nephew comes over I can just give him access to the bin and he doesn’t have to pull books off the shelves. We’ll see how that works…

  • 3. frankschulteladbeck  |  January 27, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    My daughter goes after various books around the house. She likes the ones on ancient civilization (nice pictures, and we read the text dramatically). Good luck with your nephew.


"To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong." - Pearce

Archives

Feeds


