Clean Slate

October 15, 2012 at 8:47 pm 2 comments

I’m getting ready to start a new job, and one of the things that is most exciting to me is the chance of a fresh start (can you say “inbox zero”?). It’s not that I want to scrap everything I’ve already done, but I always love being on the threshold of something new – it’s a chance to evaluate and say “How can I start off in the best possible way? What would I do differently going forward? What are the things I want to focus on?”

I want to make sure I don’t get so absorbed in my day to day tasks that I lose sight of the big picture. I want to make sure I ask for help when I need it, and not try to shoulder burdens alone out of some misguided sense of personal responsibility. I want to make sure I’m giving my team what they need to do their best work.

And I really want to find an organization system that works for me!

If anyone out there is still paying attention to this blog, leave me a comment and let me know what you’d do differently if you had a fresh start.

Entry filed under: learning, work. Tags: .

Sign this! Ringing in the New

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rebecca  |  October 24, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    I’m still reading, Genesis :)
    I love the idea of a fresh start. If I had to do anything differently, I think I’d try to speak up more. Everyone always made me feel like my opinions and insights were valid, but at first, when you’re new, you sort of feel like you should listen more and not talk too much. I realize now that I have some good ideas and I should definitely share them with my supervisors and coworkers. I think I still have that issue!

    Reply
    • 2. Genesis  |  October 24, 2012 at 11:02 pm

      Definitely speak up, Rebecca! You don’t have to wait to start a new job to do it. Share your own ideas; share the thoughts you have about other people’s ideas that can make them better, too. Kick some ass!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


"To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong." - Pearce

Archives

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

